I’m not a fan of the NRA, but…


I don’t like the NRA. Don’t get me wrong, they’re supporting the 2nd amendment, they’re well funded, organized, blablabla. I guess that’s all a good thing. I want to take a walk down memory lane with you, though.

In the 90′s, we had background checks* come up. The NRA came out as supporting them. The leader said in a hearing they were all for “instant” background checks, something pointed out as being a political masterstroke, binding up congress with a technological impossibility, at the time.

Now, they have reversed their “position”. Why? Because “things like that won’t help anything.”

I’m all for the 2nd, and totally against registration and background checks as a tool that could be easily wielded by a tyrant to illegally move to take people’s firearms. I suppose the position “it won’t help” works, but I can poke a giant hole in it with no thought involved at all. “How will we know until we try?”

This is why I don’t like the NRA. They take a weak position to engender the most political support possible, offering politicians a position defensible to the public should they face reelection, but it puts them in a constant state of trying to cause congress to dither.

If they take the strong position, then I’ll be all for them. Until then, though, I can’t help but wonder if they are not an “agent provacateur” working WITH the government.

The knowledge that you send the NRA your money tends to make people think,”Well, I don’t need to do a thing as an individual. That’s why I pay them.” Thus, if they turn around and give the government an “in” to gun control, then you are caught unaware until they show up at your door to take your firearms because of the deal they struck with “NRA support”.

Do I think you should send your money to them? If you got the money to send, then go ahead. But never think they should be your ONLY advocate. YOU are your best advocate. Send your money, but make sure you drop a line to your government representative, congressman, sheriff, president, and whoever else you can. Think of them as one of your pawns in this maddening game of political chess, so that they do not make you a sacrificed pawn in a play of their own to maintain their own position, power, and income.

 

*-This was written some time ago, and I used “gun registration” instead of “background checks”, something which caused people to focus on the idea that the NRA had never supported direct “registration” rather than what I was trying to get across-the idea that being a pawn for one entity was as dangerous as being the pawn of another.

4 Comments

Filed under Social ideas, Thoughts

4 responses to “I’m not a fan of the NRA, but…

  1. Pingback: I don’t like the NRA - iVoter.com | iVoter.com

  2. Pingback: I don’t like the NRA… Why?…. Because they arm the ones they fight. | cogitabunda

  3. “I’m all for the 2nd, and totally against registration and background checks as a tool that could be easily wielded by a tyrant to illegally move to take people’s firearms.”

    My guess is the NRA was for background checks initially, but with experience decided it wasn’t such a good idea after all. The NRA is like any large organization, political.

    I agree with you that as a gun owner I don’t take it as a matter of faith that the NRA is always right. But I do think it is a good idea to give them some support (like being a member – you get the magazine too. 🙂 )

    It is always going to be a “mixed bag” but they have done some really good things defending the 2nd (and yes not always consistent, and sometimes they will piss you off). You can be an NRA member and still support GOA or whomever you think is the most ideologically pure.

    lwk
    free2beinamerica2.wordpress.com

    • I know, and you’re right. The main thing I was trying to say at the time was that-by all means, be a member of the NRA, but don’t leave your rights entirely in their hands. As citizens, we have our own work to do, as individuals. Whether we hold up a sign, write a letter to an elected representative, or whatever.
      Too often, people decide that individuals have no power, and leave the “work” to these groups. We, as citizens, should realize that we do have power, as individuals. Enough individuals of like mind sending similar letters requesting X action from an elected representative should, itself, be the equivalent of a vote by the people. It is through this power and the use of it that citizenship will mean something and have value. I still think that I could have been clearer in writing it, but my writing is still a “work in progress”.

      You should have seen the responses I got from “defend assault weapons-I dare you” on FB. lol 🙂

Leave a Reply

