I hate humanity…


CartmanGetsanAnalProbe21

 

(An unrelated pic that makes me happy)

Well, not really.

I say it all the time, but the real truth is, I hate how unhappy people are, and hate that I generally don’t know how to fix it.

The woman I see at the local gas station, for example.  We know each other from years ago, and we have had some nice conversations, but lately she’s irritated about… something.  Polite conversation doesn’t allow my normal methods of getting information out of them, and so, I end up having to walk away, wishing there was something I could do to make her smile.

My own life gets in the way, as well.  There’s a little girl, sitting with her mom at work right now.  I saw her there, and she has come to my house to play with my kids in the past, but, since I was irritated and have a slight headache, I didn’t invite her to come home with me until her mom gets off from work.

I can’t change everything, I can’t control other people and help them to be happy.  I can’t imbue the trust I assign others onto people in order to get them to trust me enough to open up about whatever is bothering me.

****************

In turn, I have to consider what this does to my own state of mind.  Because I can do little about the one thing, and made a choice I feel bad about for the other, I wind up letting my mind wander off into the darker places, where kindness and happiness are things to avoid, things which don’t effectively exist.  I have spent alot of time here, and have done some of my best writing and thinking from this place, but…

I can do something.  It’s like, as I internally turn towards the darkness, where the sky is black with red lightning and the land is barren… the notion that I can do something calls to me.  It will be uncomfortable, and it will merely reinforce the idea that I’m the local “loose nut”, but, that’s ok.

****************

I’m going to go back there, invite the child, and I think I’ll pick up a card at Food Lion and drop it off to the cashier.  They will(hopefully) be a tiny bit happier, and that, in turn will give me some internal peace.

****************

I think that, maybe, this is how we make the world better.  Helping these two people will not cure world starvation, or cause world peace, or end discrimination.

It will make a dent.  A scratch on the world.  Maybe, me telling you about it will make you go outside of your own comfort zone, and you’ll ask the following question…

“Who can I make smile today?  How can I do it?”

Try it.  Let me know how it goes.  🙂

If you like the way you feel, check this out: https://www.facebook.com/onesparkcanstartafire

Leave a comment

Filed under Social ideas, Thoughts

Leave a Reply

