To “force” it or not…


This is something I really worry about.

I want to write.  I want to do it as a job, day in and day out.  To do that, I have to be able to write consistently and skillfully, and the dreaded “writer’s block” will be a major fear of mine, to be avoided as strongly as any other distraction.

Can I force it out and still write something worth reading, though?  I just don’t know.  I’m easily inspired and my mind has a ton of stories going on, but…  I’m a planner, and I want to “plan” for writer’s block, or even needing to write without any inspiration handy at all.

I’ve seen some methods, even tried some out, but it was kind of like practicing how to handle a ‘fishtail’ situation while driving, without fishtailing.

Maybe I already do “force it” out, though.  I mean, I don’t sit down here with a vast story in my mind and simply type it out.  An idea comes, or a portion of an idea, and the story develops as I put words on the page.  Even now, writing this, if I try to be aware of it, my awareness of what I am saying is only about a word or two ahead of what I’m typing.

I think that, for now, I’m just going to have to chalk this up to worrying about nothing.  If I get to a point that the words simply won’t come, maybe that just means I should bull my way on through until the “inspiration” returns.  The very act of writing is enjoyable, and if I never make a penny doing it, I enjoy doing it anyway.

Ah well, on that note, I think I’ll go write something and see what happens.  🙂

 

6 Comments

Filed under Creative ideas, For followers, Thoughts

6 responses to “To “force” it or not…

  1. let it come to you man – if you force it it wont be you writing… fo fiction thats very much so.

    I do remember your advice: or more accurately it is a worm you’ve implanted into my brain (w apologies to roge waters/pink floyd)

    As it hapens, two days ago I had a nightmare of the sort I *never* had before — almst but not entirely recovered — when i woke up then I still panicked ’cause i had no words to describe it – but if only to detraumatise myself I told my partner madhura and i did find words…. I thank her (already thanked her presonally *then*) for lending ears…

    anyways… there’s material in that nightmare for a fictional write-up but it is *slowly* transmutiing — if i rush it i’ll kill it!

    — you know who man,,,

  2. From a writers perspective and knowing what your going through don’t force it. When your creativeness comes, roll with it. If you feel like you have writers block, relax it happens. If you can picture what you write, mentally see it then re-read what you wrote so far to get your creative juices flowing.

    • You are absolutely right. I think that perhaps I should work on the “main work” I want to do while “feeling inspired and creative”, and should that die down, turn my attention to another project. It’s funny, but some of my best creative thoughts happen when I am doing something similar but unrelated, or I’m simply doing something that is boring me to tears.

      Maybe I should take up cross-stitch or something… 🙂 (no offense to the cross stitch lovers out there, but the one time I ever did it the only thought I had that stuck with me is that it was probably the most tedious thing I had ever done… then again, I was 5 or 6 at the time. lol)

  3. Oh yes – we have the same battles, just different genres. I don’t create because I fear it won’t be good enough or I overthink it and it all turns to crap……. On those days when I just go and play and see what happens something usually emerges. It’s not always a masterpiece – it can’t be, the muse don’t work like that – but it’s honing the craft and that is important. Must remember to take my own advice……. 🙂 Happy writing!

    • It’s hard to “just let go and write” sometimes. I’m trying to get to that place where the creative juices are flowing well enough to really set time to crafting something worthwhile, and the time is near. I guess this is sort of my version of “preperformance jitters”. I wrote a few lines, the phone rang, and I remembered why I was trying to hold back a little until September. 🙂

      Thank you for this view, though. It’s easy to lose sight of the need to hone one’s blade when what you want most is to wield it well. 😉

Leave a Reply

